Psychologist Licensure Requirements in Utah
Utah psychologists are licensed by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, or DOPL, (http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/psychology).
Licensure as a psychologist is based on education, examination, and supervised professional experience. While completing postdoctoral practice hours, candidates are licensed as Certified Psychology Residents.
Psychologists who provide mental health therapy have more specific training requirements. However, the process does not necessarily take longer.<!- mfunc feat_school ->
Capella University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and offers an Online Bachelor’s in Psychology. This program is modeled around the American Psychological Association (APA) Guidelines. APA does not accredit undergraduate psychology programs. Capella University, also offers several Online Master’s and Doctoral programs in Psychology including both clinical and non-clinical specializations. Visit School's Website.
Arizona State University - The Bachelor of Arts in psychology allows you to develop a comprehensive understanding of an individual's thoughts and actions. In this bachelor’s in psychology program, you’ll cover topics such as learning and motivation, statistics and brain function. This online psychology degree equips you with skills needed for careers in psychological treatment, business, law and more.
New York University - Master of Arts in Counseling and Guidance online - No GRE required. MPCAC-accredited. Complete in as few as 18 months. Bilingual concentration available. Scholarships available.Click Here to request information today.
Pepperdine University - Master of Arts in Clinical Psychology with an Emphasis in Marriage and Family Therapy online - Prepare to pursue licensure as an LMFT or LPC in as few as 24 months. No GRE required. Visit School's Website.
University of Southern California - Online MSW - With options for both online and in-person field placement, USC's CSWE-accredited MSW program allows those with a BSW to earn their degree in as few as 12 months.Click Here to request information today..
Select a Utah Psychologist License topic below…
- Education Requirements
- Supervision Requirements
- Psychologist Exam
- Application & Related Materials (Link to Form)
- Licensure by Endorsement
- Contact Information: Board and Professional Organizations
Psychologist/ Psychology Resident Requirements: Education
Click Here to learn more about psychology education options based on your current educational attainment.
A doctoral degree is required for licensing at either level. The doctoral program may be accredited by the American Psychological Association (APA) or designated as a psychology program by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards /National Register Joint Designation Committee.
An applicant from a non-APA program will need to document at least two semester hours of theoretical coursework in each of the following:
- Individual differences
- Biological bases of behavior
- Social bases of behavior
- Cognitive-affective bases of behavior
Also required are two semester hours in each of the following content areas:
- Research design and methodology
- Scientific and professional standards and ethics
Three quarter hours is considered the equivalent of two semester hours.
A program that is outside the ASPPB jurisdiction of the United States and Canada may be accepted if it meets designation guidelines; this is determined by the National Register.
Psychologist Requirement: Supervised Professional Experience
A psychologist candidate will need at least 4,000 total experience hours before full licensure can be granted. Utah does not specify what proportion must be pre-doctoral and what must be postdoctoral. Pre-doctoral practice is legal if it is part of a training program authorized by the university; postdoctoral practice requires state credentialing. A candidate may not earn more than 40 hours a week at either level. Pre-doctoral hours are to be supervised at a rate of at least one hour for every 20 training hours; post-doctoral hours are to be supervised at a rate of at least one hour for every 40 training hours.
If the candidate seeks a mental health qualification, at least 1,000 hours must be in mental health therapy. Mental health therapy practice, as defined by Utah code, includes mental health assessment and diagnosis and the prescribing of treatment or prevention plans. Mental health therapy must be supervised by a psychologist at the rate of at least one hour of supervision for every 40 hours of training. The training will take place at some point after a master’s has been granted. The supervisor is to be a licensee who has practiced for at least two years.
All supervised practice is to be completed within four years of the time the doctorate is earned unless DOPL expressly grants an extension.
Psychologist Requirement: Examination
Two licensing examinations are required. Both are taken after practice requirements have been met and a license application has been submitted. Candidates register with third parties but DOPL must first grant authorization.
The Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) is a national board examination which covers eight competency areas. Registration information will be sent to approved applicants. Candidates should be prepared to pay a $600 fee upon registration. They will pay $79.56 later when scheduling at a Prometric site. A candidate bulletin is available through the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (http://www.asppb.net).
Utah allows two retakes, with 60-day wait times in between. After a third unsuccessful attempt, a candidate will need to submit an action plan.
A successful candidate will take the Utah Psychologist Law and Ethics Examination. Utah contracts with PSI for administration of this examination. The fee is $72. There are PSI sites in North Salt Lake City and in the greater Ogden, Provo, and St. George metropolitan areas; it is also possible to schedule in another state. PSI attempts to accommodate scheduling requests as closely as possible.
A content outline and detailed registration information can be found in the candidate handbook.
The passing score on the jurisprudence examination is 75%. Results are made available immediately.
An individual may continue to practice under a resident license while completing examination requirements. However, it is expected that all requirements will be met and a license issued within one year of the time the candidate finishes training.
The Application Process
An in-state candidate applies first as a Psychology Resident. Official transcripts are required and may be requested directly from the university or included with the application in their original envelope with a seal or stamp on the flap. Candidates who did not graduate from APA-accredited programs will also submit course worksheets. An $85 fee is due at this time.
The same application packet (http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/forms/applications/068_psychologist.pdf) is used for psychologist licensing. However, different supplemental materials are required. Supervisors fill out verification forms. The psychologist license application carries a $200 fee.
Applications may be mailed or hand delivered to the DOPL office in Salt Lake City; two separate addresses are listed in the application packet.
A candidate who has already passed the EPPP in another state or jurisdiction may use the score transfer form found on the DOPL site.
Out-of-state psychologists who have practiced for at least one year and accrued at least 2,000 hours can be endorsed into Utah. They must submit verification of licensure and verification of active practice. In addition, they will need to present an appropriate mobility credential or demonstrate that they were licensed under substantially equivalent educational, experience, and examination requirements. (If Utah requirements were different at the time they were licensed, they will be held to the standards that were then in place.)
The following credentials are accepted for mobility: American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) diplomate certification, National Register (NR) credential, and Certification of Professional Qualification (CPQ).
Remote/ Transitional Practice by Out-of-State Licensees
An out-of-state psychologist may provide transitional services through remote means to a client who relocates to Utah, but must notify the Division within ten days of client relocation.
An endorsement licensee will be required to sit for the Utah Psychology Law Examination. A list of applicable statutes can be found in the application packet. The examination is to be passed within six months of application.
Candidates whose psychology training does not qualify them as clinical psychologists have the option of completing re-specialization programs.
If you are still in High School, hold a High School Diploma/GED, hold a bachelor’s degree, or hold a master’s degree check out suggested steps to take along the path to become a Licensed Psychologist in Utah.
Candidates should be aware that rules change periodically. The latest version was published on the DOPL site in November of 2013.
The licensing agency may be reached at (801) 530-6628 or (866) 275-3675 or Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (http://www.dopl.utah.gov/licensing/psychology).
The Utah Psychological Association is an additional professional resource (http://www.utpsych.org).